All you need to know about the Express Entry program.

The Process

The government of Canada are seeking skilled workers that will contribute to Canada's economy. Express Entry has 3 immigration programs:

  • Federal Skilled Worker Program
  • Federal Skilled Trades Program
  • Canadian Experience Class

Federal Skilled Worker Program (FSWP)

This FSWP Immigration program is available for foreign nationals without a job offer to obtain their PR status. This program is based on the point system. For a foreign national to be eligible under the FSWP program, they must score at least 67 points out of the 100 points. Points are generated through these 6 sections factors: 

Federal Skilled Trades Program: (FSTP)

To be eligible for FSTP, candidates must meet the following requirements:

  • Have a valid job offer of of full time employment for a least one year OR a certificate of qualification issued by a provincial or territorial body;
  • The candidate must have at least two years of full-time work experience in a "Skilled Trade" within the five years before applying;
  • Must meet all the job requirements for the skilled trade that is stated in the NOC;
  • Plan to live outside of Québec;
  • and must meet the required language ability.

Canadian Experience Class: (CEC)

This Immigration program is designed for individuals that already resign in Canada or has resigned in Canada that was able to work in the Canadian workforce. The following requirements are: 

  • Meet the required Language levels;
  • Have at least 1 year year of skilled work experience in Canada, in the last 3 years before applying;
  • The candidate was able to obtain this work experience with a valid temporary resident status.